ECAC opens it’s mens hockey season on Saturday

Photo credit:

The conference kicks off its 61st season with one non-conference and three exhibition games.

The ECAC (Eastern College Athletic Conference) has been a staple of college hockey since it was formed in 1961, and will continue to be when it begins a new season on Saturday October 2nd. Colgate meets the Rochester Institute of Technology in a non-conference game while Quinnipiac, Union, and RPI will all play exhibition games. Regular season play for the rest of the member schools begins on October 8th. The ECAC has twelve schools that boast both mens and women’s ice hockey programs.

The schools that make up the ECAC are; Brown University, Clarkson University, Colgate University, Cornell University, Dartmouth College, Harvard University, Princeton University, Quinnipiac University, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, St. Lawrence University, Union College, and Yale University.

Coach Heenan ready to get Utica College hockey season started

New York State is home to six of the conference’s twelve members. Representing the Empire State are: Clarkson University, Colgate University, Cornell University, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, St. Lawrence University, and Union College. The Colgate University Raiders would be considered central New York’s “hometown team”, as their campus is located in Hamilton. 


A map of the ECAC school locations. Photo credit:

The ECAC mens ice hockey regular season will conclude on February 26th, 2022. The team with the best record will receive the Cleary Cup, which is given annually to the team with the best regular season record. After the regular season, the ECAC Tournament will be held at the Herb Brooks Arena in Lake Placid, NY. The champion of this particular tournament will win the Whitelaw Cup, and an automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament. 

A profile of new Utica Comets Head Coach Kevin Dineen

Since its inception, the ECAC has had a track record of success in ice hockey. Almost 700 of its players have been drafted into the NHL – four of those players have been awarded the Hobey Baker Award as college hockeys best player. 

A high level of achievement is has followed ECAC alumni off the ice as well. Stanley Cup winning executive Dave Taylor, NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman, and NHL Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly all graduated from ECAC schools. 

For more on ECAC Hockey, visit You can also find the league and its members on Facebook and Twitter. For more college hockey coverage, go to


One thought on “ECAC opens it’s mens hockey season on Saturday

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: